Fun Fact Friday with Franky’s Fun Flamingo Facts

Franky the flamingo pictures on a bright purple background
“The flamingo is a filter-feeder, holding its curved beak upside down in the water it sucks in the muddy water and pushes the mud and silt out the side while tiny hair-like filters along the beak called lamellae sieve food from the water.”

Hi everyone and welcome to Day 10 of Fun Fact Friday with Franky the Flamingo!

Franky is the main character in a children’s picture book called Franky the Finicky Flamingo. He appears to be a picky eater until he discovers the food that is right for him.

What if you had to eat with water running out of your mouth like a flamingo? That would be kind of messy!!

But, here’s something else you can try with the help of an adult…using a strainer in the sink, try straining different foods such as pasta; fruit; and/or veggies.

Of course, enjoy eating the foods once they’ve been strained!

Now, if you want to have more fun, take a strainer (with your parents’ permission) into the tub and try straining water-proof toys; or take it out to your sandbox and scoop up your toys out of the sand and strain away the sand!

Think of other things that would be fun to strain and give them a try too!

I’d love to hear what you’ve done and even better, if you’d share pictures!! I’m not sure if you can upload a picture to the comment box, but you can send them to me and if you give permission for me to share them, I’ll upload them here on my blog. Just email here

Enjoy your “straining” time!

Hugs!

 

6 thoughts on “Fun Fact Friday with Franky’s Fun Flamingo Facts

Thank you for following my blog! I encourage your interaction on my posts.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.