What Stardust Trail Are You Leaving Behind?

night sky, stars, shooting star
Stardust

 

It’s been awhile since I have just shared from my heart. I hope you’ve enjoyed the posts of other children’s authors. I love to help promote other people’s works!

As you may know, I’m a High School Guidance Counselor and here in Florida, school starts on Thursday. I’ve been busy meeting with children and their parents getting their schedules all set for the big day.

I love my job! Not everyone can say that and I know I’m fortunate to be able to say it. I’ve been at my job for 20 years and honestly, I don’t know where the time has gone. Now, not every day and every minute of those 20 years have I loved it. I mean, let’s be real. Some days are really hard. Some days people are incredibly unhappy because I can’t do what they want me to do. That’s hard. I don’t like not being able to make people happy. I try to understand where they are coming from and explain why something can’t be done and most of the time people understand.

We had a wonderful motivational speaker during pre-planning! His name is John Perricone. Look him up. He was a teacher for 31 years and won all kinds of awards and is not a consultant and speaker. He reminded us why we all got into this business in the first place and that was to make a difference in children’s lives.

One of the things that makes me love my job is, of course, the children. They are full of energy and hope for the future. But, some need hope right now. I’m glad I can be there for them–to listen, to care, and to encourage them. It makes my heart glad to see them succeed and overcome whatever obstacles are before them. And I love seeing them as adults following their dreams.

Add to that my new job of writing children’s books. I write positive messages woven into magical adventures. I do this to help kids. But, what I didn’t realize was that I might also touch parents, too. Saturday, I was at a book event and I got to talking to a Mom who was of a different ethnicity than I. We grew up in the same city but had very different lives. She explained the fear she had lived in. She brought her children to Florida to get away from that and is very happy where she lives now. She feels safe, she has started her own business, and her children are happy and successful in school. These are things that would not have happened had she stayed where she was. We had a heart to heart talk and I hugged her goodbye.

It was as I was driving home that day that I realized something–it’s not my job title that allows me to touch lives, but it’s me. It’s how I interact with others and care about them. Just like our motivational speaker who not only touched the lives of his students but also everyone he meets now.

I want to encourage each of you reading this to reach out and speak to someone new, find out more about them. Don’t be afraid to ask them their life story. You never know what you might learn and how willing people are to share. We are all just trying to make it on this beautiful planet spinning in the darkness amongst the stars. Let’s be part of helping each other make it in this life. Let’s leave a bright stardust trail in our wake!

 

 

7 thoughts on “What Stardust Trail Are You Leaving Behind?

  1. What a wonderful message. You are indeed fortunate to have a job you love and one that makes a difference. I loved my job as an Employment Counsellor too. I did, however, meet many people who did not like their job.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.