Have You Set Your Parenting Goals yet?

baby-caucasian-child-daughter-53571
photo free from pexels.com

 

As January comes to a close and February is in full swing, it’s a good time to reflect on the parenting goals you set for yourself in 2017. Maybe you’d like to play more with your children, or be more consistent in your discipline, or set up a chore calendar that everyone can live with.

If you haven’t set any parenting goals, take a moment to stop and think about what you’d like to improve. Parenting moves at a fast and furious pace. It’s easy to get swept up in what ‘has’ to be done and forget that you have a precious life looking up to you and needing you. That can feel like an awesome responsibility and it is, but if you take a moment, take a deep breath and ask yourself about what kind of parent do I want to be? What does my child ‘really’ need?

I promise, if you stop and tune in, you will be a great parent!

My mantra when my child was growing up was, “I only get to do this once, I might as well do it well.” I read books and conversed with other parent friends. But, mostly, I tuned into my child. I tried to listen with an open heart and open mind. I tried not to press my agenda but rather help her find her own passions and interests. I tried to love at every turn.

I wasn’t perfect and I’m still not, but if we stop and breathe, we can get ourselves on the path we really want to take rather than letting the pressures of our day push us through it.

I challenge you to reflect on your original goal and if you’ve forgotten about it or gotten off track, take a moment, and think about what you can do right now to get back on track. If you haven’t set a goal, take a moment to set one. It’s only February. You have a whole year ahead of you.

Let’s do it well!

4 thoughts on “Have You Set Your Parenting Goals yet?

  1. I also try to ensure in my grannying that I am continually adapting and changing to my grandchildren’s current needs, rather than what they required during their previous visit – but it is hard to keep up at times.

    Like

  2. I changed my job last year so I could spend more time with my 2 year old. It’s great, but there’s always more stuff to fill the time that was was work before, so that time with her slowly diminishes. A nice reminder in this blog to check how I’m doing with it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s fantastic that you changed your job to spend more time with your daughter. You won’t regret it! I did the same thing. Time spent with your child is powerful for both you and her! Glad to hear it.

      Like

Comments are closed.