Whole School Approach towards Character Education

blue-angels-jets-f-18-flight-48021
Blue Angel Picture free from Pexels.com

 

When I’ve written about Character Education in the past, I have mainly been talking about individual teachers teaching the specific characteristics in their classroom.

Today, though, I found an interesting website that explains a whole school approach in which everyone from the Principal on down to the Cafeteria personnel are in on the character education of the child. This approach creates a “culture” at the school which is very effective in encouraging positive character traits. It embraces the child and supports them in a very real community sense.

When I envision this being implemented, I think about how I would like to be at such a school. If everyone is on the same page, encouraging positive behavior and these behaviors are clearly stated, it makes it easy for the student to stand up for what is right because they know they will have support everywhere they are in the school and from everyone. Other students will be less likely to act outside of the encouraged behaviors because they will know they are not accepted there.

So, as long as it isn’t an oppressive atmosphere, but rather one of love and acceptance, which to me, are the building blocks of good character, then I think this could be a great way to infuse character education in our children. Just like the Blue Angels in the above picture, they work together towards one goal. In doing that, they build trust and respect and cohesiveness. When you see the Blue Angels fly, it takes your breath away. I believe in a similar fashion, if a whole school is operating as one, it would bring out the best in everyone and be something that when others behold, it would take their breaths away too.

Let me know your thoughts. Have you attended such a school? Have you taught at such a school? What do you imagine would be pros and cons of this approach?

For the full article, here’s the link to character.org 

As always my books entertain children while subtly encouraging good character traits and are available on Amazon.

12 thoughts on “Whole School Approach towards Character Education

  1. I was a kid so many years ago that bullying was rare (and rapidly corrected), and we still pledged allegiance to the flag every day. Still, other than my parents, the books I read shaped my own character most: Five Little Peppers, Nancy Drew, Hardy Boys, and all the kid classics from those days. Even the TV shows we watched had positive, character-building plotlines.

    When I look at schools, books, TV shows, tweets, etc., it seems little wonder that this country seems caught in a downward spiral that is encapsulated in the current “teach to the test” mindset. Learning how to think and how to build community seem sadly missing – no blame to the teachers, btw.

    So nice to read your comment above, and know that there are authors writing with the need to help build character in mind.

    I hope you and yours have a wonderful holiday season.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Like

      1. This is the first time in decades I’ve ever had ONE dog (on purpose, anyway). I’m hoping to relocate and, as a renter, I don’t want to make finding a place more difficult than it will be already. (HATE to move!) Yorkies are adorable – but Shih Tzus are one breed I am SURE I’m not allergic too, so I remain a Shih Tzu mom. It would kill my spirit to have to rehome a dog because it turned out I couldn’t breath.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      2. We used to have three dogs. Really, that was a bit much. I like having two because they keep each other company. I understand though when you need to move, it is easier to find a place as a one dog owner. And yes, allergies can be a problem. So, better safe than sorry. It would be so difficult to find them a new home. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.