Dad’s Day

pexels-photo-69096

 

Being June and all, it’s the month for Dad’s. You might think that’s funny because we don’t actually give the whole month to celebrate Dad’s, but we should. I mean we celebrate Mother’s Day in style, but Dads get a lesser celebration. I don’t know if Dads just don’t like all that fuss or we have some conflicting feelings towards our Dads. It’s no surprise given today’s world, where there is so much divorce and some aren’t as involved, that maybe we do have some conflicts. But, Dads that stick around and stay involved, well, they deserve to be celebrated all month!

Let’s take a look at how Dads help children develop. In the article “The Importance of Dads,” the author talks about how a father’s involvement can actually increase their child’s cognitive abilities as well as increase their child’s level of social-emotional stability leading to more happiness and feelings of security throughout life.

I know for me, having an involved Dad has made me feel more secure. There’s something about a Dad that comes home every night and plays with you and talks to you and genuinely cares about what’s going on in your life that had made me feel more secure throughout my life.

I know a tie or a shirt isn’t a fabulous gift to actually show all that you’ve done for me, Dad, but the thought behind it is one of celebration. You sacrificed for our family. You worked hard. You took us to the park. You made model rockets with us. You took us to the pool and the beach. You took us on vacations. You listened. You were there. For that, Dad, I’m incredibly thankful. So, for this month of June, let’s tell our Dads we love them and that they deserve to be celebrated!

Happy Father’s Day, Dad! I love you!

To read the whole article, which gives way more information than I shared here, go to the link below

http://www.boba.com/the-importance-of-dads

And if you liked this article, you may want to follow me for more at www.wandaluthman.wordpress.com

3 thoughts on “Dad’s Day

  1. Hm. I do think you may have hit the nail on the head. The hard fact of having so many children having to deal with their fathers leaving the family – and then acting as if they didn’t have children leaves scars. But, of course, you’re right – it seems hard to mute the celebration of the good ‘uns as a consequence.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks. You’re right. Many scars from Dad’s leaving and some scars from Dad’s who stay but aren’t good parents as well. All the more reason to celebrate the good ones, as you said! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m very fortunate to have had a very close relationship with my father. I agree that we can’t neglect to celebrate all of the great fathers out there because of those who haven’t lived up to their responsibility.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.